Established in 2005, the Visitor’s Center is located at 3744 South Main Street in the office of the Farmville Chamber of Commerce. Maps and brochures with detailed information about Farmville and the surrounding area are available.
To contact the Visitor’s Center, please call 252-753-4671.
Step into Farmville and step back in time. Stroll down the quaint Main Street where many of the buildings date back to the early 1900’s and are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The First Christian Church, located on the corner of Church and Main Street, celebrated its 150th anniversary in 2004, and in 2005, Farmville Furniture celebrated its 100th anniversary.
Farmville’s downtown area has maintained its vibrancy and vitality of an earlier age. The Paramount Theatre, an art-deco movie house dating back to 1921, has been converted into the home of Farmville’s Community Arts Council. For more information, please call 252-753-4671.
Walter B. Jones Town Common
In 1988, Farmville constructed a new Town Hall and Courtroom and created the beautifully landscaped Town Common.
Named for former Congressman Walter B. Jones, Sr., the Town Common features a gazebo, which is now the town’s logo, and the Millennium Fountain. Built entirely by citizen donations in 1999, the three levels of water represent the past, present and future, and the Fountain symbolizes the community’s commitment to honor the past and shape the future.
May Museum and Park
The May Museum and Park is dedicated to preserving and interpreting Farmville area history. Tabitha Marie DeVisconti, the last descendant of Major Benjamin May to live in the 19th century house, donated her home, property and many artifacts to the town of Farmville. Following renovations, the Town opened the facility in 1991 as the May Museum and Park.
The home was built circa 1870 by James William May. His grandfather, Major Benjamin May, settled the area south of Black Swamp in the colonial period and was known to have “promoted and motivated his community in an exemplary manner.”
The May Museum and Park is located at 3802 South Main Street. For additional information, call (252) 753-6725.
Farmville Golf and Country Club
Established in 1935, this original “Donald Ross” style course is nestled among fairways lined with 300 year old oak and cypress trees. Measuring just over 6200 yards, the course features immaculately manicured fairways and championship tees.
The spacious well-equipped club house boasts a formal dining room, snack area, men’s locker room and ladies’ lounge. The Farmville Country Club also offers a full-service pro shop.
For more information, please call 252-753-3660.
Oliver Murphrey Park and Walking Trail
Following the devastating flood in 1999, where homes were lost in the disaster, the community built its 6th community park. The Oliver Murphrey Park and Walking Trail is located on North Main Street and features a walking trail with fitness apparatus at various stations.